Part 11 – SOMETHING SANTA BROUGHT

Back again and less than 24 hours since my last post.  This must be a record. Anyway, I forgot to add the book I received for Christmas to my list of recently read books.

Rare: A Life Among Antiquarian Books, by Stuart Kells, details the lives of Kay and Muriel Craddock. It tells how they have become among the most successful and well respected antiquarian booksellers, not only in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia where their shop is located, but throughout the world. As Geoffrey Blainey wrote in the foreward “Rare chronicles the social history of the book trade in the second half of the twentieth century – when antiquarian bookselling emerged as a recognisable profession. ” As well as being a great read, the book was very informative for me.

3 thoughts on “Part 11 – SOMETHING SANTA BROUGHT

  1. It’s good to know that a lot of people in the present days love to read books. Reading a book is the best way to learn and explore once thoughts. As you continue to blog about books that you read, may you infect a lot of people online as well as the people around you to read books. As a book formatter/designer, I am happy to have stumbled on this page.

  2. Thank you so much for your comments. It’s great to have someone new come across my blog, especially someone in the book industry. I have found over recent years in particular, that chatting to others about the books they have read and enjoyed has introduced me to authors and genres I may have not previously thought I would like.

  3. Robert says:

    I found this to be a very interesting read and would recommend this book to any one who is interested in books as well as history in general

Leave a Reply

